Home/News ( 2013 )

Limacol named CPL T20 title sponsors

Thu, 27 Jun 2013 03:40 PM

Georgetown (Guyana), June 27: Limacol has been announced as title sponsors of the first ever Caribbean Premier T29 League (CPL) scheduled to get underway next month.

Limacol is a product of the Guyana Pharmaceutical Company (GPC), franchise owner of the Guyana Amazon Warriors, one of the six teams taking part in the tournament starting July 30.

The sponsorship is a multi-year agreement which covers all aspects of the tournament, from branding and uniforms to advertising, marketing and promotions.

“We feel it is important for the major corporate houses of the region to support this landmark initiative and intend to set an example by taking the title sponsorship of the event,” said New GPC executive chairman Ranjisingh “Bobby” Ramroop Wednesday.

“Combined with CPL’s media reach that will span the cricket world, we aim to take the Limacol brand and its family of products owned by New GPC Inc into the homes of all cricket fans around the world."

Limacol is an established brand distributed throughout the Caribbean as well as North America, Europe and Asia.

Organisers say the tournament will now be known as the Limacol CPL.

The inaugural league starts on July 30 in Barbados and concludes on Aug 24 in Trinidad.



  • Port-of-Spain (Trinidad), Feb 28: The inaugural Caribbean Premier league (CPL) has generated $105.6 million across the region, a study by the University of the West Indies (UWI) has found. The study by the Mona School of Business and Management of the UWI said the competi..
  • Port of Spain, Sep 25: At least five of the region’s leading all-rounders have confirmed their participation in the Caribbean Single-Wicket Tournament carded for Trinidad around the middle of October. Caribbean Premier League (CPL) Twenty20 stars Dwayne Bravo, Andre..
  • Basseterre (St.Kitts), Sep 23 : St. Kitts and Nevis want to be a franchise holder for the 2014 edition of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL). The government is currently installing floodlights at the Warner Park Cricket Stadium with the hope of creating the possibility fo..
  • Kingston (Jamaica), Sep 5: Fast bowlers Sheldon Cotterrell and Tino Best and opener Chris Gayle have been singled out for producing some of the most electrifying moments in the recent Caribbean Premier League (CPL). Playing for the Antigua Hawksbills, Sheldon Cotterrell, ..
  • Kingston (Jamaica), Sep 1: Former West Indies cricket player Michael Findlay is concerned about the contribution of the Caribbean Premier League (LCPL) to the development of the sport in the region. Findlay, from St. Vincent and the Grenadines and a former West Indies wic..
  • Kingston, Aug 29: Jamaica Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller says the recently concluded Caribbean Premier T20 League (CPL) has the potential to become a permanent fixture on the West Indies cricket calendar. The observation came in Miller's congratulatory note to the J..
  • Kingston, Aug 29: Left-arm pacer Krishmar Santokie says he hopes his performances for the Guyana Amazon Warriors in the just-concluded Caribbean Premier T20 League (CPL) will help him regain his place in the West Indies senior team. Santokie was named Player of the Tourna..
  • Port-of-Spain (Trinidad), Aug 28: Shoaib Malik of the Barbados Tridents and Krishmar Santokie of the Guyana Amazon Warriors finished as the top runscorers and wicket-takers of the inaugural Caribbean Premier League (CPL). Malik tallied 272 runs in eight games to edge Guya..
  • Port-of-Spain (Trinidad), Aug 28: West Indies head coach Ottis Gibson says he wants to see pitches for the future editions of the Limacol Caribbean Premier League (LCPL) similar to those in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Gibson'sc comments echoed the observations of com..
  • Port of Spain (Trinidad), Aug 26: The inaugural Caribbean Premier League (CPL) has been hailed by organisers and players as a "massive success". The tournament ended Saturday night in front of a full house at the Queen’s Park Oval here with the Jamaica Tallawahs cro..
2005-2015 vCricket.com All rights reserved. Version 7.4
Follow us on