Home/News ( 2014 )

Karnataka set up semi-final clash with Punjab

Sat, 11 Jan 2014 03:58 PM

Bangalore, Jan 11: Karnataka cruised to an expected victory against Uttar Pradesh by 92 runs with more than a day to spare in the Ranji Trophy quarter-final match here Saturday to set up a Jan 18-22 semi-final clash with Punjab in Mohali.

Punjab had defeated Jammu and Kashmir by 100 runs in the other quarter-final at the Moti Bagh Stadium in Vadodara.

Set a target of 333, Uttar Pradesh, who resumed their chase at the overnight score of 55 for one, were never really in the hunt as they lost wickets at regular intervals and were all out for 240.

Leg spinner Shreyas Gopal, only 20 and playing just his third first class game, was the pick of the Karnataka bowlers as he came away with 5 for 59 with paceman Abhimanyu Mithun picking up 3 for 71 and skipper Vinay Kumar returning 2 for 72.

Having resumed at 55 for one, Uttar Pradesh's slide began with a double strike that saw the exit of opener Tanmay Srivastava (44) and veteran Mohammed Kaif (0) in consecutive overs.

Thereafter, the Uttar Pradesh innings crumbled while Karnataka delivered the big blow when Mithun removed first innings hero Parvinder Singh (8) with a delivery that came back a long way to take the off-bail even as the batsman opted to leave the ball.

There was some resistance from the Uttar Pradesh middle order as Ekalavya Dwivedi (33) and Piyush Chawla (44) put on 70 runs for the eighth wicket.

However, the departure of Dwivedi, caught brilliantly at mid-wicket by Vinay Kumar off Mithun, virtually signalled the end as Gopal removed Amit Mishra and Chawla in quick succession.

It was left to Vinay Kumar to clean up the Uttar Pradesh innings, though not without some drama. The seamer clean bowled last man Rudra Pratap Singh and even as the celebrations began, umpire Rajesh Deshpande signalled a no-ball after checking with the third umpire. However, Vinay later sent Ankit Rajpoot's stumps flying, and this time it was a legitimate delivery.

Brief scores: Karnataka 349 and 204 vs Uttar Pradesh 221/9 decl and 240 all out (Tanmay Srivastava 44, Eklavya Dwivedi 44, Piyush Chawla 44; Shreyas Gopal 5/59, R Vinay Kumar 2/72, Abhimanyu Mithun 3/71). Karnataka won by 92 runs.



  • Kolkata, Dec 15 : Seamer Ashok Dinda picked up seven wickets for 87 runs to wrap up Karnataka for 408 in their first innings but Shreyas Gopal's maiden first-class century (145) stole the thunder from the hosts on the second day of their Ranji Trophy match at the Eden Gardens here Monday. In reply,..
  • Bengaluru, Dec 9: After gaining a slender 16-run first innings lead, Karnataka batted themselves into a position of strength by making 247 for four in their second essay against Tamil Nadu on the third and penultimate day of their Ranji Trophy Group A league match here Tuesday. Tamil Nadu, who were..
  • Bengaluru, Dec 6: Karnataka begin the defence of their Ranji Trophy title hosting Tamil Nadu in a four-day game beginning here Sunday and would be looking to repeat their last season's performance that saw them win three of the four domestic tournaments besides seven wins in eight outings. The Vina..
  • Hyderabad, Feb 1: Maharashtra's troubles in their Ranji Trophy final against Karnataka remained despite a fighting century from Kedar Jadhav on day four at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium here Saturday. Jadhav (112 off 135 balls) took his team to 272 for six before..
  • Secunderabad, Nov 7: Mayank Agarwal (162) scored a superb century to help Karnataka to a 163-run victory over Andhra Pradesh in a South Zone match of the Vijay Hazare National ODI Championships here today. Andhra Pradesh won the toss and bowled first but were pushed back by Karnataka who posted a b..
  • Kolkata, March 16: Karnataka overcame early batting blues to lift the Vijay Hazare trophy by fashioning a four-wicket victory over Railways and complete a triple title triumph in the domestic cricket season here Sunday. After restricting Railways to 157 in 47.4 overs, Kar..
  • Bangalore, Feb 11: Having taken a massive 405-run first innings lead, Ranji Trophy champions Karnataka had Rest of India on the mat at stumps on the third day of their five-day Iran Cup match here Tuesday. At close of play, Rest of India were 114 for three in their second..
  • Bangalore, Feb 9: Skipper R. Vinay Kumar grabbed 6/47 and bowled Ranji Trophy champions Karnataka into a sound position against Rest of India, who were all out for 201 despite a valiant 91 by Dinesh Karthik on Day 1 of the Irani Cup here Sunday. In reply, Karnataka were 3..
  • Bangalore, Feb 8: Riding high on confidence after winning the Ranji Trophy for the seventh time, Karnataka would be looking to add the Irani Cup to their silverware as they take on Rest of India in the traditional five-day match commencing at the Mangalam Chinnaswamy Stadium he..
  • Bangalore, Feb 3: Harbhajan Singh will lead the Rest of India (RoI) side against Ranji Trophy champions Karnataka in the Irani Cup to be held here Feb 9-13. The 15-man RoI squad includes Gautam Gambhir, Amit Mishra, Dinesh Karthik, Varun Aaron and Parvez Rasool. Harbhajan..
2005-2015 vCricket.com All rights reserved. Version 7.4
Follow us on