Home/News ( 2012 )

Harmeet Singh picked up for Irani Cup

Mon, 10 Sep 2012 05:45 PM

Mumbai, Sep 10: Under-19 World Cup winner Harmeet Singh will be part of the Cheteshwar Pujara-led Rest of India side for the Irani Cup tie against reigning Ranji Trophy champions Rajasthan. The match has been shifted to Bangalore from Jaipur.

The domestic season opener will take place in the southern city from Sep 21 to 25 after the Jaipur venue was deemed unfit to host the match.

Harmeet, the left-arm spinner who helped Indian colts win the title in Australia, has also found a place in the India 'B' squad for the NKP Salve Challenger Trophy scheduled from Sep 29 to Oct 2 in Rajkot, the BCCI All-India Senior Selection Committee decided here Monday.

The other India U-19 team members in the side are all-rounder Baba Aparajith and speedster Sandeep Sharma.

Pujara will captain the 'B' team while Subramaniam Badrinath has been named the skipper of the 'A' side.

Rest of India squad: Cheteshwar Pujara (captain), Murali Vijay, Ajinkya Rahane, S. Badrinath, Dinesh Karthik, Wriddhiman Saha, Yusuf Pathan, Pragyan Ojha, Parvinder Awana, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Shikhar Dhawan, Stuart Binny, Abhimanyu Mithun, Harmeet Singh.

India 'A': S. Badrinath (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Shikhar Dhawan, Robin Uthappa, Dinesh Karthik, Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan, Ishant Sharma, Parvinder Awana, Abhimanyu Mithun, Pragyan Ojha, Iqbal Abdulla, Harshal Patel, Udit Birla.

India 'B': Cheteshwar Pujara (captain), Murali Vijay, S. Anirudh, Kedar Jadhav, Robin Bist, Stuart Binny, Ravindra Jadeja, B. Aparajith, Praveen Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Munaf Patel, Harmeet Singh, Rohit Motwani, Sandeep Sharma.



  • Sydney, Jan 5: Newly appointed Indian Test captain Virat Kohli is set to make a clear statement that he is the big boy in town by axing opener Shikhar Dhawan, who reportedly stood up to him in a heated exchange in Brisbane. The 26-year-old Kohli is wasting no time in marking out his territory, with..
  • Sydney, Dec 17: Indian batsman Cheteshwar Pujara's dismissal after a Josh Hazlewood delivery brushed his helmet caused an explosion on Twitter in cricket-loving India, with even Australian skipper Michael Clarke sympathizing with the visitors. India's refusal to use the Decision Review System ( DRS..
  • Adelaide, Dec 11: Batsman Cheteshwar Pujara Thursday exuded confidence that India will continue to put on an impressive batting display on day four of the ongoing first Test against Australia at the Adelaide Oval and overhaul the host's first innings total of 517 for seven declared. Skipper Virat K..
  • Dubai, Aug 19: Indian batsmen Cheteshwar Pujara and Virat Kohli's dismal performances in the recently concluded five-match Test series against Englandsaw them dropping down in the International Cricket Council (ICC) rankings for Test batsmen, following their side's 1-3 series defeat.
  • Dubai, July 14: Indian top order batsmen Cheteshwar Pujara and Virat Kohli have dropped several places in the latest ICC rankings released Monday. While Pujara slid a place to be ranked eighth, Kohli slipped three places to go out of the ..
  • Leicester, June 26: The Indians put on an impressive performance on the first day of their first three-day warm-up match against Leicestershire with Shikhar Dhawan, Gautam Gambhir and Cheteshwar Pujara notching up half-centuries at Grace Road here Thursday. Indians were 3..
  • Dubai, Jan 6 : Indian cricketer Cheteshwar Pujara has risen to a career-best No.5 in the latest ICC rankings for Test batsmen released Monday. Pujara jumped two places above Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara and Australia skipper Michael Clarke to the top-5 with 851 point..
  • Sydney, Jan 1: An Australian media report has included Indian batsmen Cheteshwar Pujara and Murali Vijay in their ''Test team of 2013''. According to News.com.au, no team has managed a Test victory in 2013 in their opponent''s backyard from 41 completed matches to date, discoun..
  • Johannesburg, Dec 25: Indian batsman Cheteshwar Pujara said that his team can draw confidence from the fact that South Africa''s negative batting tactics at the end of the first Test showed a lack of confidence in their lower batting order. The two teams drew the opening ..
  • New Delhi, Dec 13 : India's Cheteshwar Pujara was adjudged the Emerging Player of the Year while Australian captain Michael Clarke bagged the Sir Garfield Sobers trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year and the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year award. The announcement of the 201..
2005-2015 vCricket.com All rights reserved. Version 7.4
Follow us on